Sunday, December 14, 2008

Sam Bradford: The 74th Heisman Winner

Congrats to Sam Bradford, who became the fifth Sooner to win the prestigious award.

A few notes on the Heisman this year:
- Tim Tebow received the most first place votes, but lost, the first time that has happened since 1956.
- Sam Bradford became the second sophomore ever to win the Heisman, joining Tebow, who won it last season.
- First time ever that no Heisman finalists were seniors.
- We now know why Graham Harrell wasn't invited to New York: he only received 213 points in the voting, compared to 1,726 for Bradford, 1,604 for Colt McCoy and 1,575 for Tebow.

This award makes the BCS National Championship game that much more intriguing. We now have the last two Heisman winners facing off against each other for the title. This is the second time that two Heisman winners will be facing each other in the national title game. In the 2004 season, Matt Leinart faced off against Oklahoma's Jason White, who won the previous year. That game also took place in Miami. It is also the first time since the 2005 season that a bowl game has had two Heisman winners playing (Leinart and Reggie Bush, USC, Rose Bowl).

Now the real question is whether or not the recent curse of Heisman winners losing their bowl game will continue this year: the last five Heisman winners, and seven of the last eight, have lost their bowl games (the lone exception being Carson Palmer in 2002). We hope that streak continues come January.

We would also like to thank all of those who voted in our first poll, we will have a new one up soon.

No comments:

Post a Comment